Thank You

How many times have we been thankful for our problems? That’s right, you heard me correctly, thankful of our problems.

Let me give you four scenarios:

1)      A family of five. Two children (twins) aged 5, husband and wife. Husband has a very high paying job and is a world traveller. The rare times that he is with the family, he is tired and halfheartedly takes part in the children’s activities. The wife is a homemaker who has a sad expression most of the time on her face but doesn’t show that to her kids. You can make out she is bored with life, but is a good mother. A grandmother who stays next door, who may not be getting along with her own son now.

2)      A family of five. One child, husband, wife, one set of grandparents.  Both the parents are working; the child is being raised by the grandparents with the help of the maid who has been with the child since birth. The maid knows the likes and dislikes of the child. The parents earn well and take numerous vacations together. There is a sort of undercurrent between the parents to excel in their respective fields, added to deadlines and performance issues at home and office.

3)      A family of four. Two children – nine-year old boy and a fourteen year old girl, husband, wife and granny. Now you notice I said family of four when I named five individuals.  That’s because the son was killed in a road accident. They dine together every day; the mother weeps at the window and lights a lamp in her son’s remembrance. Both the parents are working but make it a point to eat together, support each other help each other move on.

4)      A family of two. Retired senior citizens – a husband and wife. Their sons and daughters have settled abroad and have moved away emotionally from them. Their doctor’s visits are on their own; their morning tea and dinner is like a silent movie. But the love they have for each other is apparent.

Image

Now you tell me which one of these scenarios would you like yours to be?  You would not swap? Thought as much. We wouldn’t because each of us has battles in our own lives. Just because the neighbor has bought a second car, doesn’t mean they are wealthy. The family that takes vacations together may not be actually enjoying themselves because they are always on the phone, thinking of their next deadlines. Scenario number three needs no explanation. It is one that no parent wants to be in. Scenario number four looks rosy but think about it – all their lives they have toiled away so that the children could have a bright future and now when they are needed the most, they are not around.  But, honestly, scenario number four is somewhat acceptable, I agree to that. There are multiple scenarios and multiple problems around me far more complex but that is maybe for another day.

So today I want to thank my problems. I accept that my problems are due to the choices I have made in life. The decisions and circumstances that I could have dealt with differently in my life are my own doing. You realize by accepting your problems, you are thanking all the good things or the small blessings in your life that are working for you. I am therefore, thankful for the blessings I have received from the Almighty. I am thankful for the fact that I have a house in a metropolitan city, even though we had to take a loan for it, it is ours. I am thankful for the fact that I have used my education to the best of my ability and am writing this blog based on my experiences and my own independent thought processes. I am thankful for the genuine support shown by my family, friends, strangers, online friends instead of the fake praises that one receives without any reason. I am thankful for the friends who don’t even read this blog – at least they are being honest. And lastly I am thankful for my son who teaches me patience, unconditional love and innocence at the age of three.

THANK YOU.

Image

K

November 5, 2013.

5 thoughts on “Thank You

    • I have to thank you most as you were my first follower and have always left words of encouragement on my blog how ever sad it was .. Thank you dear . I look forward to your comments.

  1. Finally! U see the light. That’s what I was hoping u will achieve on yr own. Am so happy. Its the little things in life we that we have to appreciate so that we can enjoy the bigger picture.

  2. You’re very close to the GREATEST REALIZATION IN LIFE Khushnuma…the law of gratitude , i personally run my life on it…will mail you what i wrote on it sometime back…meanwhile here’s something to chew on….
    “LET US RISE UP AND BE THANKFUL, FOR IF WE DIDN’T LEARN A LOT TODAY, AT LEAST WE LEARNED A LITTLE; AND IF WE DIDN’T LEARN A LITTLE, AT LEAST WE DIDN’T GET SICK AND IF WE GOT SICK, AT LEAST WE DIDN’T DIE; SO LET US ALL BE THANKFULL.”

    GAUTAM BUDDHA(Circa 563BC – 483BC) Founder of Buddhism.

Talk to Me :)

