K Challenge

Recently, I was part of a conversation where one of the guys was commenting about how his wife needed to lose weight. It was probably a joke, so I merely laughed at it, because his wife was definitely a good looking girl and motherhood had taken a small toll on her body.

Scene two – I am at work and people around me are cribbing about weight and how their husbands have told them to lose weight. Their basic self-image consisted of a huge butt or thunder thighs.

Now I am a fat person. But I am not here to talk about me. You can call me fat and I will accept it. Because I am what I am.

My weight issues have been my companions throughout school, and with age it gets more difficult. And I am trying various ways to reduce. But what really bothers me is when a person judges another healthy person on the basis of a little weight that they may have put on. I want to understand what compels others to judge someone on the basis of their weight.

I really have a good chuckle when I hear such talks, because these women who are labeled as ‘fat’ are examples of what I want to be. I want to be at a weight which is correct as per my height. I want to wear dresses which are flowery but I don’t have the legs for it. I feel sorry for my colleagues who have perfect chiseled bodies but still want to lose more poundage. I would give anything to walk in their shoes.

I want my teenage friends to not worry about a small belly that shows once in a while, because with the hectic lifestyle they follow, they will lose it eventually.

I want to tell you girls, please stop looking into the mirror, wondering if you look like a Deepika or a Katrina. The real you needs a chance to emerge, and to flower. .

A little fat is good for your body, anything in excess is bad.

Learn to accept yourself. Be comfortable in your skin.

I am not asking you to start bingeing. Just remember why you are controlling your diet. Is it to please your partner or yourself? Control your diet because you feel that YOU have had enough and not when someone else has defined it for you.

As I write this, I can’t help but wonder if our world will change its  perspective on how we view ‘fat’ people, at least in the next ten years. Just then I hear a commercial of how Deepika has accepted the K challenge.

_/\_

~ K

Talk to Me :)

