Pledge

Our pledge

India is my country. All Indians are my brothers and sisters.

Empty words and hollow hearts.

All we have for each other is hate.

 

I love my country and I am proud of its rich and varied heritage. I shall always strive to be worthy of it.

I hate you.

You eat what I don’t.

I hate you.

You don’t speak the way I do.

I hate you.

Because all I have been taught to do is hate.

 

I shall give my parents, teachers and all elders respect and treat everyone with courtesy.

What’s ‘courtesy’ you ask?

It’s the difficult part of you accepting someone different from you.

Hate is easy you see,

It is easier for me to see all your flaws and point them out,

Without flinching for a moment to think about the four fingers pointing back at me.

I don’t like challenges like love, because I am blinded by prejudice.

 

To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion.

In their well-being and prosperity alone, lies my happiness.

I am angry that you defy me, mock me on this land that I own.

I am devoted to teach you a woman, her place in this world.

In this alone lies my heaven.

My peace.

Because after all isn’t it all about me?

Khushnuma B,2017.

Talk to Me :)

